UCC Media Justice

The 2015 Everett C. Parker Lecture

The 2015 Parker Lecture was held on October 20th, 2015, 8:00am at the First Congregational Church in Washington DC.  See press release, videos, photos.

This year's lecture will celebrate the incredible life of Dr. Everett C. Parker

Parker Lecture Honorees 2015

danah boyd

danah boyd

Joseph Torres

Joseph Torres

Catherine J.K. Sandoval

Wally Bowen

The 2015 Honorees are:

  • danah boyd, founder, Data & Society Research Institute and “activist scholar” on the social and cultural implications of technology, will give the 2015 Parker Lecture on Ethics and Telecommunications.

  • Joseph Torres, senior external affairs director of Free Press and co-author of News for All the People: The Epic Story of Race and the American Media, will receive the Parker Award which recognizes an individual whose work embodies the principles and values of the public interest in telecommunications.

  • Wally Bowen, co-founder and executive director of the Mountain Area Information Network (MAIN), will receive the Donald H. McGannon Award in recognition of his dedication to bringing modern telecommunications to low-income people in rural areas.

Read the press release to learn more about our honorees.

Click here to purchase tickets.

Lead Sponsor


Corporate Special Friends

Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

National Cable and Telecommunications Association

TracFone Wireless

Wiley Rein LLP


Corie Wright

Marvin Ammori

Special Friends


Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP

NonProfit Special Friends

American Civil Liberties Union

Benton Foundation


The Everett C. Parker Lecture has been a tradition in media justice for over 30 years. It is a program with an interesting and compelling history.

The Annual Everett C. Parker Ethics in Telecommunications Lecture and Awards Ceremony is sponsored by the Office of Communication, Inc. (OC, Inc.) of the United Church of Christ.

Parker Lecture in Ethics and Telecommunications. The Everett C. Parker Ethics in Telecommunications Lecture was created in 1982 to recognize Parker's pioneering work as an advocate for the public's rights in broadcasting. It is the only lecture in the country to examine telecommunications and the digital age from an ethical perspective.

Everett C. Parker Award. The Parker Award is given in recognition of an individual whose work embodies the principles and values of the public interest in telecommunications and the media.

Donald H. McGannon Award. The McGannon Award is given in recognition of special contributions in advancing the roles of women and persons of color in the media.

Since its founding in 1959, the Office of Communication of the United Church of Christ (OC, Inc.) has been a leading force in the struggle to ensure that women, persons of color and low-income persons have equal access to ownership, production, employment, and decision making in media. OC, Inc.'s work grows out of the United Church of Christ's historic commitment to civil rights, and our belief that social justice cannot be achieved without a media system that reflects our diverse histories and struggles. OC, Inc. promotes justice in media through legal challenges, policy advocacy, grassroots organizing, and public education.

For more information about the United Church of Christ, Office of Communication, Inc., please see our web site at: http://www.uccmediajustice.org

Copyright ©2014 OC Inc. | Subscribe to UCC Headlines | Subscribe to our Blog in a Reader facebook icon twitter icon twitter icon

Sign Up for Email