UCC Media Justice

The 2014 Everett C. Parker Lecture

The 2014 Parker Lecture was be held on October 7, 2014, 8 am at the Newseum, Washington DC. View event photos and check out full video and highlights of the event.

Thank you to our sponsors.

Parker Lecture Honorees 2014

Tom Wheeler

Tom Wheeler

Makani Themba

Makani Themba

Catherine J.K. Sandoval

Catherine J.K. Sandoval

The 2014 Honorees are:

  • Tom Wheeler, chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), will deliver the 2014 Parker Lecture.

  • Makani Themba, executive director of The Praxis Project, will receive the Everett C. Parker Award, recognizing an individual whose work embodies the principles and values of the public interest in telecommunications.

  • Catherine J.K. Sandoval, a Commissioner of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) since 2011, will receive the Donald H. McGannon Award, given in recognition of special contributions in advancing the roles of women and persons of color in the media and in the media reform movement.

Read the press release to learn more about our honorees.

Read about past Parker Lecture honorees. Click here to purchase tickets.

A LIVESTREAM of the Parker Lecture will be availble HERE.

Lead Sponsors

Patron Sponsors

Corporate Special Friends

Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

TracFone Wireless, Inc.

Verizon Communications Inc.

Special Friends


Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP

Non Profit Special Friends

Benton Foundation

Intersections International

The Praxis Project

Non Profit Friends

Communications Workers of America

The Parker Lecture program is presented in cooperation with the Newseum Institute

Copyright ©2014 OC Inc. | Subscribe to UCC Headlines | Subscribe to our Blog in a Reader facebook icon twitter icon twitter icon

Sign Up for Email